Hello again! I decided not to wait three days again to post because I’m in the middle of enjoying a delicious (late) lunch!

Recently my fiance and I have become H-U-G-E fanatics of Paul Newman’s pasta sauces… especially italian sausage. It’s definitely worth a try if you eat meat!

I definitely stole this photo.. but Sockarooni is amazing too!

However, the yummy sauce was not my lunch today! I had a grilled hummus(Sabra- my only love)/havarti cheese sandwich on those new OraWheat thin sandwich buns!! I generally don’t like really bulky bread for sandwiches so this is perfect for me when I want to add more hummus and not feel so guilty. ๐Ÿ™‚

Speaking of hummus- I’ve seriously tried a lot of brands but until I read about Sabra on the blog, I thought other brands reigned supreme. NOT TRUE. If you like lemon-y, creamy hummus this is seriously the brand for you to buy! There’s a restaurant in Sugar Land called Red Oak Grill- a mediterranean cafe. I went there a few weeks ago to try out their hummus….I can’t even describe how lovely this hummus was! First, the bowl was the size of what you’d put your breakfast cereal in, and it was FULL of glorious, creamy hummus. If you’re not able to go there…buy SABRA!

Topping off this amazing lunch was a small homegrown orange from my man’s family’s free! Their backyard has a tiny orange tree that produces so much, they beg me to take some home! Along with that, as the title indicates, some Newman O’s! I couldn’t find the regular with white cream so I found the chocolate filled chocolate cookies. (darn.. ๐Ÿ™‚ ) Nomnommnomm..so far, I’ve done the whole “portion control” aka 2 cookies, but we’ll see how that fares…

On another note, I have a very good reason for why I have no new pictures on here! I lost part of the charger for my camera and honestly, I probably won’t order one for a couple of weeks. I’ve been trying to save all my money for gifts this Christmas and y’know, paying unpleasant bills and such =) EDIT: I just tried to put my memory stick in my comptuer and I’m pretty sure I wasn’t supposed to because it won’t come out now ๐Ÿ˜ฆ rrgh!

Tonight I’m prepping a crock pot chili for my man! He’s been out of town in Mexico all week for work, so I can’t WAIT to see him and feed him something I made ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m going to combine a recipe I found online, and Gina/Fitnessista’s sweet potato pot. here’s the basic recipe:

Black Bean Chili Withย Beef

  • 2 tablespoons bacon drippings or vegetable oil (Bacon drippings?!.. I would NEVER! I think that’ll be 2 TBSP water.)
  • 1/4 cup chopped onion
  • 1/4 cup chopped green peppers
  • 1/2 cup diced green chile peppers
  • 3 tbsp. tomato paste
  • 3 to 4 beef bouillon cubes, or beef base
  • 1/4 tsp. ground cumin
  • 1 tsp. minced garlic
  • 1/2 tsp. salt and pepper
  • 1 cup shredded Monterey Jack or mild Cheddar cheese
  • 1 lb. stew beef, cubed
  • 1 can cooked black beans

Preparation:

Brown stew beef in bacon drippings or oil WATER with onion and green pepper. Combine all ingredients except cheese and cook 6 to 8 hours on low.
Serve hot in bowls with a little cheese sprinkled over each serving.
I’m going to add 2 sweet potatoes to the mix because when I read it on Gina’s site, I was shocked that you can do that– yes, I am definitely not very creative when it comes to cooking!

I get the weekend off from work until Sunday evening, so it looks like we are going to be taking a trip down to Galveston for the Festival of Lights. We went the first New Year’s we were dating and haven’t been back since.. we definitely had good memories from that! ๐Ÿ˜‰ Plus, I LOVE Christmas and this is me getting to watch a 4D Christmas movie, eat a yummy Christmas feast and of course look at Christmas lights!

On that note, I’m out!

